Skip to main content


Jets Reduce to 53 with 23 Player Moves

17 Waived, Including DL Simon; Whitehead Waived/Injured, 3 Released, 2 on Reserve/Suspended


The Jets today have cut 21 players and two players, TE Austin Seferian-Jenkins and WR Jalin Marshall, are now on the reserve/suspended list, bringing their roster to 53 players.

Seventeen players were waived, including DL Deon Simon, the Jets' seventh-round pick (223rd overall) in the 2015 draft. Simon played in all 16 games last season, posting 28 tackles, 1.5 sacks and 1.5 tackles for loss.

Also waived was DL Lawrence Thomas, who played in the Jets' first two games last season before going on Injured Reserve.

WR/KR Lucky Whitehead was waived/injured. Whitehead was acquired on waivers from Dallas in July before the start of training camp. He suffered a foot fracture in practice after the first preseason game.




Three veterans were released. S Shamarko Thomas, who played for Pittsburgh from 2013-16, was signed as an unrestricted free agent in June. WR Kenbrell Thompkins was signed by the Jets last month after playing for the Green & White in 2015. Long-snapper Tanner Purdum's release was announced on earlier today.

Seferian-Jenkins was suspended by the NFL for two games for violating the league's substance abuse policy, while Marshall was suspended by the league for four games for violating its performance enhancing drug policy.

Top Images of the Current Roster

Here are all of today's 23 player moves made before the 4 p.m. ET deadline. All were waived unless otherwise noted. The roster can continue to change in the coming days and up to 10 players can be signed to the practice squad beginning Sunday afternoon.

Anthony Firkser
Romar Morris
Jahad Thomas

Frankie Hammond
Gabe Marks
Jalin Marshall (reserve/suspended)
Lucky Whitehead (waived/injured)
Kenbrell Thompkins (released)
Dan Williams

Austin Seferian-Jenkins (reserve/suspended)

Alex Balducci
Chris Bordelon
Ben Braden
Javarius Leamon

Patrick Gamble
Deon Simon
Lawrence Thomas

Frank Beltre
Connor Harris

Xavier Coleman
Robenson Therezie
Shamarko Thomas (released)

Tanner Purdum (released)




This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content