Skip to main content

AFL 50th Anniversary Season Plans Unveiled

The 2009 NFL season marks the 50th Anniversary Season for the eight original American Football League teams. Plans to celebrate the 50th season of the AFL clubs were announced Tuesday at the NFL Annual Meeting in Dana Point, Calif.


The American Football League, which merged with the NFL in 1970, played its first season in 1960 with eight teams. The original eight AFL teams were the New York Jets (played as the Titans of New York), Buffalo Bills, Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs (Dallas Texans), New England Patriots (Boston Patriots), Oakland Raiders, San Diego Chargers and Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers).

The NFL will highlight the 50th anniversary during "Legacy Games" throughout the 2009 season. During one home and one road game, the eight original AFL teams will meet head-to-head while wearing their chosen historic uniforms.


On Monday night, Sept. 14, ESPN will host a Monday Night Football doubleheader that will be part of the NFL's celebration of the 50th anniversary season of the AFL. The four clubs competing that night began playing in the inaugural 1960 AFL season.

The first game (7 p.m. ET) will send the Buffalo Bills to Foxboro to visit the New England Patriots, the decade's winningest team (102-42 since 2000). The MNF nightcap (10:15 p.m. ET) will be an AFC West battle as the Oakland Raiders host the three-time defending division champ San Diego Chargers.


In addition, the Bills will take on the Tennessee Titans in the Pro Football Hall of Fame Game in Canton, Ohio, on Sunday, Aug. 9. The game will be televised nationally by NBC at 8 p.m. ET.

The NFL and clubs are planning to celebrate the 50th Anniversary Season with numerous events this year.

NFL Network, and NFL Films will commemorate this anniversary with unique content and programming highlighting the history of the AFL and the original eight teams.

A "legacy" collection, featuring new retro-themed apparel and products, will be introduced this summer and will be available on and at other retail locations. Among the merchandise offered will be hats, T-shirts, sweatshirts, jackets and pennants.

Game-worn jerseys and signed memorabilia will be auctioned at NFL Auctions throughout the season with the monies raised going to the NFL Player Care Foundation.


Here is a list of what each of the eight original AFL teams will wear as their historic uniforms:

New York Jets (Titans of New York)

1961 season: Gold and navy uniforms; navy helmet.

Buffalo Bills

1965 AFL Championship season: White helmet featuring a simple red buffalo.

Denver Broncos

1960 season: Brown and yellow uniform; brown helmet.

Kansas City Chiefs (Dallas Texans)

1962 AFL Championship season: Red and white uniform; red helmet featuring an outline of the state of Texas.

New England Patriots (Boston Patriots)

1963 divisional championship season: White helmet featuring the original Patriot logo.

Oakland Raiders

1963 season: White (away) jersey features silver numbers outlined in black; silver helmet with original Raiders logo.

San Diego Chargers

1963 AFL Championship season: White pants with yellow bolt down legs.

Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers)

1960 season: Blue and white jersey with red accents; blue helmet with derrick logo.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content