Skip to main content

Josh McCown Named Curtis Martin Team MVP

QB Is Oldest Position Player to Win Honor, 5 Additional Team Awards Also Presented


Following a career year, quarterback Josh McCown was named the Curtis Martin Jets Team MVP as voted by his teammates.

"To have that voted on by your teammates is special and it means a lot because those guys mean a lot to me," McCown said. "To be a part of this group has been very rewarding and it's just fun to watch a group of men come together and work hard throughout the spring to try and accomplish the goal. At the end of that, to have them vote you MVP is special and it's a reflection of everybody around me, too. I'm thankful for that."

In his 15th season and first with the Green & White, McCown set season career-highs with 2,926 yards and 18 touchdowns while completing 67.3% of his passes, which ranked third in the NFL at the time he broke his hand in Week 13. The 38-year-old also rushed for a personal-best five touchdowns, which tied for first among quarterbacks when he was placed on injured reserve on Dec. 12.

McCown is the sixth different quarterback to win the award and the first since Chad Pennington in 2002. The award has gone to signal callers eight times, three of which went to Hall of Famer Joe Namath. McCown is also the second offensive player to win the MVP in the last nine years (Brandon Marshall in '15).

Last year, defensive lineman Leonard Williams became the youngest Jet to win the MVP award. McCown becomes the oldest position player to win it and the second-oldest overall behind only K Pat Leahy, who was 39 in 1990.

Dennis Byrd Most Inspirational Award — Demario Davis and Steve McLendon
The "Most Inspirational" award was first given in 1992 to Dennis Byrd following his paralyzing on-field collision during that season. Then it was named after Byrd and presented each year to the most inspirational Jet by a vote of his teammates. 

This year marks the first time the award has been split since the first award went to Byrd in 1992. McLendon is the first defensive tackle to win the award and this is Davis' second time receiving the honor (2013). It's the sixth straight season the award has gone to a defensive player(s) and the 10th time it's been awarded to a linebacker, the most for any one position group.

Marty Lyons Community Service Award — Bryce Petty
This year's award goes to Bryce Petty, the third-year quarterback who was heavily involved in all aspects of the Jets' Community Relations program, namely STOMP Out Bullying.

The award was first presented in 1990 to Lyons, the "Sack Exchange" member and long-time Jets radio analyst, who has devoted his off-the-field endeavors to his foundation, which has been "celebrating the dreams of very special children for over 30 years."

Petty is the fourth signal caller to win the award and the first since Ray Lucas in 2000.

Best Snapshots of the Curtis Martin Team MVP for 2017

Kyle Clifton "Good Guy" Award — Josh McCown
This award is presented to McCown, who is the sixth quarterback to get honored. It's the third straight year the man under center has won the award after Ryan Fitzpatrick in '15 and Bryce Petty (split with Nick Folk) in '16. Clifton won the first award in 1996. 

Ed Block Courage Award — Lawrence Thomas
Thomas receives the Ed Block award this year in a vote by his teammates and becomes the first fullback to win since the first one was presented to C Joe Fields in 1984. The converted defensive lineman is the first running back to win the award since Curtis Martin in 2001.

Bill Hampton Award — Chad Hansen
Hansen takes this year's Hampton Award, which is presented to "the rookie who acts like a pro in the locker room" as voted by the team's equipment staff and past winners. The Jets' fourth-round pick is the second wideout to win the Hampton award and the first since Brad Smith in 2006.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content