Skip to main content

Jets Connections on College Hall of Fame Ballot

Jumbo, Keyshawn, LaDainian Eligible to Become Members of Class of ’14


The National Football Foundation just released the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame ballot, and a number of former Jets are on this year's list of Hall candidates.

Six ex-Jets players show up on the Football Bowl Subdivision Player Candidates list:

■ Jumbo Elliott, the Michigan tackle who spent six seasons (1996-2000 and '02) with the Jets and will forever live in Green & White lore for his touchdown catch that helped us prevail in the Monday Night Miracle over the Dolphins in 2000.

■ Keyshawn Johnson (photo below right), the Southern California WR who was our No. 1 overall pick in the 1996 draft and had 305 receptions for 4,108 yards and 31 TDs in his four season as a Jet.

■ LaDainian Tomlinson (top photo), the TCU tailback who came to us late in his soon-to-be Pro Football Hall of Fame career for two seasons as a force on the field and in the locker room in 2010 and '11.

■ Tim Dwight, the Iowa WR/KR who put in an injury-shortened 2006 season with us under then-first-year head coach Eric Mangini.

■ Bob Crable, the Notre Dame LB who was the Jets' first-round pick (23rd overall) in 1982 and started 33 games in his six seasons with us.

■ Paul Crane, Alabama teammate of Joe Namath who arrived in 1966 and played LB and S for us through 1972.


Also on the ballot is Mark Carrier, the Southern Cal safety who served as our defensive line coach in 2010-11.

And on the FCS Player Candidate ballot is Lee White, the Weber State fullback who was our No. 1 choice (17th overall) in the 1968 draft and so was around (although he played in only one game) in the Super Bowl season but then logged two more seasons backing up Emerson Boozer and Matt Snell in our backfield.

In all, the NFF lists 75 players and six coaches from the FBS and 87 players and 26 coaches from the divisional ranks on this year's ballot, which was mailed this week to more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers.

The Class of 2014 will be announced in May from Irving, Texas, and they will be inducted at the 57th annual NFF awards dinner Dec. 9 at the landmark Waldorf=Astoria Hotel in New York City. The inductees then will be permanently enshrined in the new College Football Hall of Fame at a date to be determined in 2015. The new Hall, currently under construction, will open in Atlanta in time for this year's college football season.

Here are the bios the foundation sent around on the players who went on to contribute each in his own way to Jets history:

Bob Crable, Notre Dame, Linebacker: Two-time consensus All-America first-teamer in 1980 and 1981. … Set ND records for most career tackles (521), most tackles in a season (187), most tackles in a game (26). … Played in 1981 Hula Bowl.

Paul Crane, Alabama, Center/Linebacker: Two-way starter, earning consensus All-America first-team honors. … Member of back-to-back national championship teams. … 1965 SEC Lineman of the Year, helping 'Bama to consecutive SEC championships.

Tim Dwight, Iowa, Kick Returner/Wide Receiver: Two-time All-America first team, earning consensus honors in 1997. … All-Big Ten first teamer who placed seventh in 1997 Heisman Trophy voting. … Finished career as Big Ten's leader in punt return yardage (1,102).

Jumbo Elliott, Michigan, Offensive Tackle: Two-time All-America first team (consensus '87). … Two-time All-Big Ten first-team selection and member of 1986 Big Ten co-champions. … Paved the way for Jamie Morris, who had three straight 1,000-yard seasons.

Keyshawn Johnson, Southern California, Wide Receiver: Unanimous 1995 All-America first-teamer who ranked seventh in Heisman voting. …1995 Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year. … Earned MVP honors in 1995 Cotton Bowl and 1996 Rose Bowl wins.

LaDainian Tomlinson, TCU, Tailback: Unanimous 2000 All-America first team and 2000 Doak Walker Award winner. … 1999 WAC Offensive Player of the Year who led TCU to consecutive co-shares of WAC title. … Holds 15 school records and is TCU's all-time leading rusher.

Mark Carrier, Southern California, Safety: Two-time All-America first-teamer (1988-89), unanimous in 1989. … 1989 Jim Thorpe Award winner. … Two-time all-conference first-team selection. … Led Pac-10 with seven interceptions in 1989.

Lee White, Weber State, Fullback: Named All-America first team and all-conference first team in 1967. … Rushing and scoring champion of Big Sky Conference in 1967. … Member of Big Sky Silver Anniversary Team.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content