Walter Payton Man of the Year Award

Since 1970, the NFL has awarded the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award to recognize a player’s off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence. The New York Jets have named fullback Tony Richardson as the club’s 2010 Walter Payton Man of the Year. Through his Rich in Spirit Foundation and the New York Jets Community Relations Department, Tony has impacted many lives throughout the country. As the Jets’ award winner, Richardson will receive $1,000 to donate to the Rich in Spirit Foundation, his 501(c)(3) organization of choice. This is Richardson’s second Man of the Year Award as he also won the honor in 2008. Richardson is eligible to win the national Walter Payton Man of the Year Award and be recognized at a press conference during Super Bowl Week in Texas.  The national winner will receive $25,000 to donate to the 501(c)(3) organization of his choice. The Jets have had two national winners, Marty Lyons in 1984 and Boomer Esiason in 1995.


Winners (since 2001)

2001 – Kevin Mawae

2002 – Mo Lewis

2003 – Marvin Jones

2004 – Kareem McKenzie

2005 – Kevin Mawae

2006 – Chad Pennington

2007 – Jerricho Cotchery

2008 – Tony Richardson

2009 – D’Brickashaw Ferguson

2010 – Tony Richardson